Celebration of Educators at the Zoo

To our heroes! 
Thanks for joining the Celebration of Educators at Adelaide Zoo last night! As Lisa-Jane, president of Educators SA, said: “In 2021, you have all once again led the way by assuming your professional responsibility to serve our education community and you should be very proud of all you have continued to achieve in 2021. Hundreds of professional learning events, hundreds of hours of professional learning support and publications, and thousands of connections with educators across the state. Your ongoing commitment to ensuring that the learners of SA have access to the highest quality educators is a credit to you all.”
Minister John Gardner took the opportunity to thank all educators for their work in another challenging year. He also had the pleasure of awarding retiring presidents of Educators SA’s member associations for their outstanding service to the educator profession:
  • Jenny Jin: Chinese Language Teachers Association of South Australia
  • Deanne Bullen: Drama SA
  • Tina Photakis: EdTechSA
  • Katie Silva: Humanities and Social Sciences SA
  • Sarah Hockey: Home Economics Institute of Australia
  • Cindy Pitkin: Japanese Language Teachers Association of South Australia
  • Ray Marino: South Australian Area School Leaders Association
  • Jane Wright: South Australian Science Teachers Association
  • Greg Restall: South Australian Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages Association
  • Robyn Carmody: Visual Arts Educators of South Australia
  • Debra Bradley: Australian Association for Environmental Education (SA Chapter)
  • Sarah Lewis: Australian Association of Teachers of the Deaf (SA Branch)
  • Penny Biar: Australian Literacy Educators Association (SA Branch)