World Teachers’ Day 2022

World Teachers’ Day Awards Ceremony 2022

What a fantastic celebration of educators in SA.

Educators SA World Teachers’ Day Awards ceremony saw 63 awards presented to outstanding educators from all sectors and all aspects of education.

From the outstanding graduates of our universities to the Minister’s Languages and Arts awardees, from innovative association of the year to our extraordinary contributors to professional associations, all had the chance to receive their awards from the Minister or the Chief Executive of the Department for Education in front of 270 invited guests.

A great night to celebrate great educators and a great profession and all they contribute to our children and young people.  Our “hats are off’ to all Educators in South Australia.

Want to know who the outstanding educators in our state are? See awards bellow.

Association Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award for Dance: Gillian Roberts

Australian Association for Environmental Education
SA Environmental Educator of the Year: Lisa Weidenbach

Australian Association of Teachers of the Deaf (SA)
Teacher of the Deaf Achievement Award: Nicola Capon & Teresa Maiolo

Australian Band and Orchestra Directors Association
Emerging Music Leader: Jessica Joyce

Australian Council for Educational Leaders (SA)
Teacher of the Year: Martyn Anderson

Australian Literacy Educators Association
Service Award: Penny Biar

Australian Psychologists and Counsellors in schools (SA)
Counselling Teacher of the Year: Bianca Hodgkiss

Australian Society for Music Education (SA) Chapter
Outstanding Contribution to Supporting Quality Music Teaching: Keith Huxtable

Australian Teachers of Media (SA)
SA Media Teacher of the Year: Michael Roberts

Business and Enterprise Teachers’ Association
Award for Continuous and Outstanding Contribution: Giovanna Iannicelli

Chinese Language Teachers’ Association SA
Outstanding Service Award: Kathy Purvis

Creative Arts Association Australia
Excellence and Innovation Award: Jacq Barry

Design and Technology Teachers Association SA
Executive Member of the Year: Thomas Oliphant

Drama SA
Outstanding Service Award: Tess O’Callaghan

Early Childhood Australia (SA)
Playful Pedagogies Award: Emma Liebeknecht

Early Childhood Organisation SA
Award for Excellence: Anne-Marie Shin

Leader of the Year Award: Rebecca Vivian

Geography Teachers Association of SA
Award for Outstanding Contribution: Joanne Wegener

History Teachers Association of SA
History Teacher of the Year: Megan Tucker

Home Economics Institute of Australia (SA)
Outstanding Contribution to Home Economics Education: Kate Meakins

Indonesian Teachers’ Association
Gotong Royong Award (Mutual Cooperation): Mimi Thorpe

Japanese Language Teachers Association of SA
Hiroshi Haga Teacher Recognition Award: Cindy Pitkin

Kodály Music Education Institute of Australia (SA)
Award for Outstanding Service: Sera Gagliardi

Laboratory Managers Association of South Australia
Life Membership: Margaret Boyle

Mathematical Association of South Australia
Outstanding Contributor of the Year: Sharon Kennare

Modern Language Teachers’ Association SA
Leadership in Languages Professional Learning: Teresa Montague

Nature Play SA
Nature Play SA Champion: Dan Jarred

Orff Schulwerk Association of SA
Leadership Award: Kirrabelle Lovell

Outdoor Educators’ Association of SA
The Peter Kellet Meritorious Service to Outdoor Education Award: Chris Hodgson

Primary Mathematics Association
Lifetime Contribution Award: Greg Parker

School Library Association SA
Library Advocate Award: Lana Di Stefano

South Australian Association of Teachers of Italian
Lifetime Achievement Award: Antonella Macchia

South Australian Council for Adult Literacy
Life Membership for Outstanding Contribution: Sue James

South Australian English Teachers’ Association
English Teacher of the Year: Kylie Ryan

South Australian French Teachers’ Association
Excellence in French Teaching: Christine Capitaine

South Australian German Teachers Association
Early Career Teachers Award: Michael Goh

South Australian Science Teachers Association
2022 Honour Award: Peter Turnbull

South Australian Wellbeing Leaders in Schools
Wellbeing Leader of the Year: Amanda Rankine

Spanish Teachers Association of South Australia
Spanish Teacher of the Year: Javier Diaz-Martinez

The Music Teachers’ Association of South Australia
Outstanding Service Award: Masako Kondo (Maa-sa-koo Kondo)

Visual Arts Educators SA
Contribution to Visual Arts Educators: Gail Glasper

University Awards

Gareth Allely
Outstanding Graduate of the Year, Flinders University
Dr Heath Nash
Outstanding Graduate of the Year, University of Adelaide

Lisa-Marie Ennis
Outstanding Graduate of the Year, UniSA

Minister’s Arts Education Awards

Judy Hanel
Minister’s Arts Education Award Public Primary, Nailsworth Primary

Cher yl Burgemeister
Minister’s Arts Education Award Public Secondary, Loxton High School Non-government Primary, St Joseph’s School Kingswood

Sharon Lynch
Minister’s Arts Education Award Non-government Primary, Immanuel Primary

Melanie Higgins
Minister’s Arts Education Award Non-government Secondary, Immanuel College

Chloe Virgin
Minister’s Arts Education Early Career Award, Christies Beach Primary

Minister’s Language Immersion Scholarships

Matthew Houston
Minister’s Language Immersion Scholarship Catholic Schools, Loreto College

Rachel Peckover
Minister’s Language Immersion Scholarship Independent Schools, St Peter’s Lutheran School

Amy Goodrich
Minister’s Language Immersion Public Schools, Kilkenny Primary

Tanya Grace
Minister’s Language Immersion Scholarship Early Career, Port Augusta Secondary

Educators SA State Awards

Credit Union SA Early Career Educator of the Year Award
Suriya Umapathysivam, Kodály SA

Mile End Office Furniture Innovative Educator of the Year Award
Rebecca Garrett, Mathematical Association of SA

Calm Wealth Outstanding Contributor to the Educator Profession 2022
Ann Millhouse, Preschool Directors Association

Educators SA Outstanding Contribution to Regional Educators 2022
School Library Association of South Australia

Teachers Registration Board Early Career Mentor of the Year 2022
Mandy Conner, Australian Association Teachers of the Deaf SA

Outstanding Contribution to Learners’ Wellbeing and Development
Bobbie Taylor, SA Wellbeing Leaders in Schools Association

World Education Forum Outstanding Contribution to Intercultural and Global Understandings Award 2022
Kathy Purvis, Chinese Language Teachers’ Association of SA

World Education Forum Outstanding Contribution to Learner Agency in Education Award 2022
Andrew Plastow, Primary Mathematics Association

Adelaide Direct Stationers Innovative Association of the Year Award
Creative Arts Association Australia (CA3)