World Teachers’ Day Awards 2019

Congratulations to the 72 winners!

On Friday 25 October 2019 we congratulated the best and finest in the education profession at the Educators SA World Teachers’ Day Celebration. More than 70 awards were presented to outstanding educators who were nominated by their peers as leaders in their profession.

Check out the photos of the night here. 

Watch a video here.

Here are the winners:

University Awards

Flinders University Award
Jonathan Legg

The University of Adelaide Award
Nia O’Loughlin

University of South Australia Award
Timothy Durst

Minister’s Language Immersion Scholarship Awards

Finalist Catholic: Maria Callisto
Winner Catholic:
Amanda Measday, School of the Nativity and McAuley Community School

Finalists Independent: Sarah Burrow, Leah Wardle 
Winner Independent:
Georgia Heynemann, Immanuel College

Finalists Department: Cathryn Miegel, Malgorzata Sztolc
Winner Department:
Tanya McCulloch, Naracoorte South Primary School

Minister’s Arts Education Awards

Primary Finalists: Indra Benson, Adam Broadbent and Tracey McKenna
Lily Gower, SA School for Vision Impaired (SASVI)

Secondary Finalists: Natalie Andreou, Catherine Carter, Megan Cooper, Lindsey Crowe, Julianne Hall, Tim Moors, Jackie Reichstein
Secondary Winner:
Wanda Jarvis, Port Lincoln High School

Andersons Solicitors Connecting with Regional Educators Award

Orff Schulwerk Association of South Australia

Credit Union SA Early Career Educator Award

Finalist: Alison Zogopoulos
Winner: Maria Bilske (VAESA)

Teachers Registration Board Award

Mike Chartres (PMA)

World Education Forum (SA) Educator Award

Bernadette Hagerty (AAEE)

Educators Supporting Educators Award

Finalists: Jasmine Darrie, Catherine Elliot, Valerie Harrold, Rosey Kadow, Susan Marshall, Joanna Patrick
Winner: Rebecca Garrett (MASA)

Leading Education Forward Award

Finalist: Rebecca Starling
Winner: Visual Arts Educators of South Australia

Innovative Association Award

Finalists: Mathematical Association of South Australia, Nature Play SA, SA Association ofr Teachers of Italian, Visual Arts Educators of South Australia
Winner: Drama South Australia

Association Awards

Environmental Educator of the Year
Deidre Knight, Australian Association for Environmental Education Inc

Award for Excellence
Jasmine Darrie, Australian Association of Teachers of the Deaf (SA)

Excellence Award
Justine Fogden, Agriculture Teachers Association of South Australia

Australian Council for Computers in Education President’s Medal
Paul Clapton-Caputo, EdTechSA

Business Innovation Award
Tricia Yandell, Business and Enterprise Teachers’ Association of SA Inc

Drama South Australia Award
Cathy Miegel, Drama South Australia

Distinguished Service Award
Rosey Kadow, Australian Literacy Educators Association of SA

Early Career Maths Educator of the Year
Laura Toland and Andrew Thomas, Primary Mathematics Association SA

Emerging Leaders Award
Felicity Davies, Australian Band and Orchestra Directors Association of SA

English Teacher of the Year
Alison Robertson, South Australian English Teachers Association

Gotong Royong Award
Sharon Mann, Indonesian Teachers’ Association

Hiroshi Haga Teacher Recognition Award
Belinda Schmitt, Japanese Language Teachers’ Association of SA

Industrious Association Service Award
Leon Driessen, Laboratory Managers Association of SA

Kodály SA Award
Lisa Williamson, Kodály SA Award

Languages Service Award
Lynn Davis, Modern Language Teachers’ Association SA

Life Membership
Cecilia Borda, Orff Schulwerk Association of South Australia

Life Member for Excellent Service
Kathy Purvis, Chinese Language Teachers’ Association of SA Inc

Long Standing Contribution Award
Teresa Howie, SA Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages

Outstanding Contribution Award
Sam Capurso, Mathematical Association of SA

Music Teachers’ Association of SA Award
Samantha Penny, Music Teachers’ Association of South Australia

Leadership and Innovation Award
Abe Moore, Nature Play SA

New Teacher Award
Scarlet Waniarcha, South Australian German Teachers Association

Outstanding Service Award
Brian Walker, Australian Psychologists and Counsellors in Schools (SA)

Award for Excellence
Christèle Maizonniaux, South Australian French Teachers’ Association

Ian McMahon, South Australian Science Teachers’ Association

Services to the Australian Society for Music Education (SA) Chapter
Dr Antony Hubmayer, Australian Society for Music Education Inc (SA)

Significant Contribution Award
Jackie Reichstein, Visual Arts Educators South Australia


Share This