Winners of the World Teachers’ Day Awards 2020

Happy World Teachers' Day 2020Happy World Teachers’ Day!

Educators SA awards outstanding educators and associations

Educators work hard to ensure the best outcomes for our children and young people and this has never been more evident than this year as South Australian educators have continued to work through the COVID crisis. “Like many front-line professionals, they have put the needs of children and families first, adapted their programs to be both online and face to face and exerted every bit of energy to keep preschools and schools running effectively” says Lisa-Jane O’Connor. She is the president of Educators SA, the peak body for educational associations in South Australia. “We acknowledge the tremendous contribution of every educator in South Australia during 2020. Every South Australian educator deserves an award this year.”

As part of the annual World Teachers’ Day celebrations, Educators SA presents a range of awards to recognise outstanding educators and professional associations. Here are the 2020 winners:

Minister’s Language Immersion Scholarship Awards

Independent Schools: Georgia Appleby, Pembroke School
Public Schools: Zoe Cole, Burnside Primary School

Minister’s Arts Education Awards

Public Primary: Jane Mant, Lobethal Primary School
Public Secondary: Lindsey Crowe, Heathfield High School
Non-Government Secondary: Anita Baltutis, Seymour College

Educators SA State Awards

Credit Union SA Early Career Educator: Curriculum and Pedagogical Leadership Award
Belinda Zanello, Home Economics Institute of Australia (SA)

TRB Induction & Mentoring Early Career Educators Award
Amanda Johnson, Home Economics Institute of Australia (SA)

Leading Education Forward Award
Drama South Australia

Innovative Association of the Year Award
SA Science Teachers Association

Educators Supporting Educators Award
Sue Johnston, School Library Association of SA

Connecting with Regional Educators Award
Mathematical Association of South Australia

World Education Forum Award
Karen Inwood, Drama South Australia

Outstanding Graduate Awards

University of Adelaide: Hannah Lally
University of South Australia: Kerri Scherer
Flinders University: Nikki Asikas

Association Awards

Outstanding Service to Music Education: Pete Barter, Music Teachers’ Association SA

Service to Wellbeing Leaders: Philip Bloffwitch, SA Wellbeing Leaders in Schools

EdTechSA Leader of the Year: Karen Butler, EdTechSA

Lifetime Achievement Award: Robyn Callan, Ausdance SA

Innovational Leadership Award: Jes Cook, Nature Play SA

Outstanding Service Award: Adrienne Cullity, Kodály SA

Award for Excellence: Monica Daju, SA French Teachers Association

Exemplary Service Award: Alice Dunlop, Australian Council for Educational Leaders SA

Outstanding Contribution Award: Irene Kiroff, Mathematical Association of SA

SA History Teacher of the Year: Paul Foley, History Teachers Association of SA

Award for Excellence: Amy Geue, Australian Association for Teachers of the Deaf SA

Distinguished Service Award: Lihua (Jenny) Jin, Chinese Language Teachers Association of SA

President’s Award 2020: Despina Karlovassitis, Laboratory Managers Association of SA

Mathematics Curriculum Leadership Award: Cassia Konistis, Primary Mathematics Association SA

Recognition of Excellence Award: Annie Kwok, Australian National Choral Association SA

STASA Award: Claudia Montiel Villagra, Spanish Teachers Association of SA

Early Career Teacher Award: Mitchell Neeb, SA German Teachers Association

SAETA English Teacher of the Year: Susanne Oliver-Dearman, SA English Teachers Association

Life Membership 2020: Cindy Pitkin, Japanese Language Teachers Association of SA

Music Educator of the Year Award: Kay Smith, Australian Society for Music Education SA

EChO Award for Excellence: Emmy Smyk, Early Childhood Organisation SA

Outstanding Contribution Award: Alice Speirs, Business & Enterprise Teachers’ Association of SA

Life Membership for Outstanding Contribution: Michele Sutcliffe, SA Council for Adult Literacy

Award for Excellence: Robyn Thomas, Home Economics Institute of Australia (SA)

JLTASA Hiroshi Haga Teacher Recognition Award: Melissa Weinert, Japanese Language Teachers Association

Outstanding Service to DSA: Daniela Zagari & Rebecca Wigg, Drama SA

Early Career Languages Educator Award: Alison Zogopoulos, Modern Language Teachers’ Association SA

SASTA Honour Award: Dr Yvonne Zeegers, SA Science Teachers Association

Watch a video of the winners here!